School Improvement and Governance Network

Practical Help

Where to find information, advice and support

VICCSO works and liaises with many organisations to help promote high-quality education, dialogue about the future of education and stronger partnerships and governance within school communities.

The organisations listed below provide general and membership-specific information, advice and support. Visit their websites.

The 'five orgs' in Victoria

Australian Education Union www.aeuvic.asn.au
AEU principals www.aeuvic.asn.au/23_9_94869830.html
Parents Victoria www.parentsvictoria.asn.au
Victorian Council of School Organisations (VICCSO) www.viccso.org.au and www.edu.org.au
Victorian Student Representative Council www.vicsrc.org.au

The AEU, AEU Principals, Parents Victoria, VICCSO and VicSRC meet several times a year

As well, see the principals' associations below. VICCSO meets with all of these assocations including VASSP and the VPA. VICCSO values its strong links with VASSP and the VPA.

Education - Victoria

Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (DEECD) www.education.vic.gov.au

On behalf of school councils and communities, VICCSO routinely liaises and meets with senior personnel at DEECD

For a list of DEECD regional offices, go to: www.education.vic.gov.au/about/structure/regions.htm

Education - Australia

Australian Council of State School Organisations www.acsso.org.au

Parents Victoria and VICCSO are the Victorian affiliates of ACSSO, which is the national body representing the key parent and school council organisations in each state

Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations www.dewr.gov.au
Ministerial Council for Education, Early Childhood Development and Youth Affairs (MCEECDYA) www.mceecdya.edu.au/mceecdya/

In December 2008, State, Territory and Commonwealth Ministers of Education released the Melbourne Declaration on Educational Goals for Young Australians

International

Education for All Forum www.unesco.org/en/efa-international-coordination/
Education International www.ei-ie.org/
International Bureau of Education www.ibe.unesco.org/en.html
International Confederation of Principals www.icponline.org/
Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Directorate for Education www.oecd.org/edu
Public Services International www.world-psi.org/
United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) portal.unesco.org/

Business and education partnerships

Schools Connect Australia http://schoolsconnect.org.au/

Catholic schools

Catholic Education Office www.ceomelb.catholic.edu.au/

Community building and volunteering

Our Community www.ourcommunity.com.au/
More Volunteers www.morevolunteers.com/

Credit unions

bankmecu www.mecu.com.au/
Victoria Teachers Mutual Bank www.victeach.com.au/

Curriculum

Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority www.acara.edu.au/
Australian Curriculum Studies Association www.acsa.edu.au/pages/index.asp
Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority www.vcaa.vic.edu.au/

Early childhood

Early Childhood Australia www.earlychildhoodaustralia.org.au

Educators' organisations

Australian College of Educators www.austcolled.com.au/
Australian Education Union www.aeuvic.asn.au
Australian Joint Council of Professional Teaching Associations www.ajcpta.edu.au/
Catholic Education Office www.ceomelb.catholic.edu.au/
National Tertiary Education Union www.nteu.org.au/
Social Educators’ Association of Australia www.seaa.org.au/
Victorian Institute of Teaching www.vit.vic.edu.au

As well, see the principals' associations below

Environmental sustainability

On this website, see the links under Environmental Sustainability

Equity and inclusion

Andrew Jakubowicz andrewjakubowicz.com/
Centre for Research on Social Inclusion www.crsi.mq.edu.au/
Dusseldorp Skills Forum dsf.org.au/
Equity 101 www.equity101.info/
National Centre for Student Equity in Higher Education www.unisa.edu.au/hawkeinstitute/ncsehe/
Social Inclusion www.socialinclusion.gov.au/

Family-school-community partnerships

Family-School & Community Partnerships Bureau www.familyschool.org.au
Partners 4 Learning www.partners4learning.edu.au

Governance

ANZSOG Institute for Governance www.governanceinstitute.edu.au/
Centre for Governance and Public Policy www.griffith.edu.au/business/centre-governance-public-policy
Institute on Governance www.iog.ca/
State Services Authority (SSA) www.ssa.vic.gov.au/

See the SSA Good Practice Guide on Governance for Victorian Public Sector Entities

Health and well-being

Australian Health Promoting Schools Association www.ahpsa.org.au/
MindMatters www.mindmatters.edu.au/default.asp

Human rights

On this website, see the links under Education Rights - the 4 Rs

Independent schools

Independent Schools Victoria www.independentschools.vic.edu.au/

Indigenous education

Dare to Lead www.apapdc.edu.au/daretolead/
Institute of Koorie Education www.deakin.edu.au/ike/
Same Kids, Same Goals www.samekidssamegoals.dsf.org.au/index.php

Languages and multiculturalism

Asia Education Foundation www.asiaeducation.edu.au/
Australian Federation of Modern Language Teachers Associations www.afmlta.asn.au/
Community Languages Australia www.communitylanguagesaustralia.org.au/
Diversity Rx www.diversityrx.org/
Making Multicultural Australia www.multiculturalaustralia.edu.au/
Modern Language Teachers' Association of Victoria www.mltav.asn.au/

Lifelong learning

Adult Learning Australia www.ala.asn.au/

Local government

Municipal Association of Victoria www.mav.asn.au/
Victorian Local Governance Association www.vlga.org.au/

Local Learning and Employment Networks (LLENs)

Local Learning and Employment Networks (LLENs) www.llen.vic.gov.au/

Members of Parliament

Parliament of Australia www.aph.gov.au/
Parliament of Victoria www.parliament.vic.gov.au/

Parents

Australian Parents Council www.austparents.edu.au/
Kindergarten Parents Victoria www.kpv.org.au/
Parenting Research Centre www.parentingrc.org.au/
Parents Victoria www.parentsvictoria.asn.au
Parent Teacher Association (USA) www.pta.org/
Raising Children Network: the Australian Parenting Website raisingchildren.net.au/
Victorian Catholic Schools Parent Body www.vcspb.catholic.edu.au/
Victorian Parents Council www.vicparentscouncil.vic.edu.au

Philanthropy

Philanthropy Australia www.philanthropy.org.au/

See Philanthropy Australia's list of funding sources at www.philanthropy.org.au/links/fund.html

Ian Potter Foundation www.ianpotter.org.au/
Reichstein Foundation www.reichstein.org.au/
The Myer Foundation www.myerfoundation.org.au/

Play environments

Playground and Recreation Association Victoria www.prav.asn.au/

Political parties

Wikipedia list of political parties in Australia at en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_political_parties_in_Australia

Primary education

Cambridge Primary Review www.primaryreview.org.uk/

Principals

AEU Principals www.aeuvic.asn.au/23_9_94869830.html
Australian Principals Federation www.apf.net.au
The Principals' Association of Specialist Schools www.passvic.org.au/index.shtml
Victorian Association of State Secondary Principals www.vassp.org.au
Victorian Principals Association www.vpa.org.au

VICCSO meets with all of the principals' organisations

Public education

Campaign for State Education (UK) www.campaignforstateeducation.org.uk/
Give Kids Good Schools www.givekidsgoodschools.org/
Public Education Group www.pgr.org.au/home.html  

See the Public Education Group list of supporters such as Jane Caro, Peter Doherty, Mem Fox, Paul Kelly and Shane Maloney

Public Education Network (US) www.publiceducation.org/
Save Our Schools soscanberra.com/

Public sector union

Community and Public Sector Union www.cpsuvic.org/

Research and policy

Australian Association for Research in Education www.aare.edu.au/
Australian Council for Educational Research www.acer.edu.au/
Australian Policy Online (APO) www.apo.org.au/

You may want to subscribe to APO's weekly briefing

Catalyst www.catalyst.org.au/catalyst/
Centre for Policy Development cpd.org.au/
Centre for Public Policy www.public-policy.unimelb.edu.au/
National Centre for Vocational Education Research www.ncver.edu.au/
Robin Alexander www.robinalexander.org.uk

School business managers

The Association of Business Managers in Victorian State Schools www.abmvss.com.au/

School canteens and healthy eating

Australian Health Promoting Schools Association www.ahpsa.org.au/
Australian School Canteen Association www.asca.com.au/
Nutrition Australia www.nutritionaustralia.org/
Victorian School Canteen Association www.vsca.org.au/

Schools in regional and rural areas

Country Education Project cep.org.au/

School councils and boards

Victoria

Association of School Councils in Victoria www.asciv.org.au
Victorian Council of School Organisations www.viccso.org.au

Other Australian states

Northern Territory Council of Government School Organisations www.ntcogso.org.au/
South Australian Association of State School Organisations www.saasso.asn.au/

Other countries

Canadian Home and School Federation www.canadianhomeandschool.com/CHSF/Welcome.html
Canadian School Boards Association www.cdnsba.org/
National Governors' Association (England) www.nga.org.uk/
National School Boards Association (USA) www.nsba.org/
New Zealand School Trustees Association www.nzsta.org.nz/

School sport

School Sport Victoria www.ssv.vic.edu.au/

Social and community services

State Schools’ Relief Committee www.ssrc.net.au
Victorian Council of Social Service (VCOSS) www.vcoss.org.au

VCOSS also has a tremendous range of useful links.

Students and young people

Australian Clearinghouse for Youth Studies www.acys.info/
Foundation for Young Australians www.fya.org.au/
Victorian Student Representative Council www.vicsrc.org.au
Youth Affairs Council of Victoria www.yacvic.org.au/
Youth Research Centre www.edfac.unimelb.edu.au/yrc/

Teaching and learning for 21C

Australian National Schools Network www.ansn.edu.au/
Coalition of Essential Schools www.essentialschools.org/
Educational Transformations www.educationaltransformations.com.au/
Edutopia (George Lucas Educational Foundation) www.edutopia.org/
Futurelab www.futurelab.org.uk/
New Horizons www.newhorizons.org/
Rethinking Schools www.rethinkingschools.org/index.shtml
SEDL www.sedl.org/
Teacher Learning Network www.tln.org.au/
Technology, Entertainment, Design (TED) www.ted.com/index.php/

Universities and colleges

For a list of Australian universities and university libraries, go to: www.australian-universities.com/list/

Australasian Council of Deans of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities www.dassh.edu.au/
Australian Council of Deans of Education www.acde.edu.au/
Australian Public Intellectual Network www.api-network.com
Council for the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences www.chass.org.au/

Values education

Values education for Australian schooling www.valueseducation.edu.au/values/